Starting Windows Phone development

I have recently started to make Windows Phone apps. I am doing this mainly as a learning exercise as I am interested in learning the technologies involved which I’m not really able to do during my day job. I am working on some real high end server applications for a client and therefore don’t have time to mess around learning GUI tech, we have real WPF developers for that.

The other reason I am doing this is because I have a windows phone and I love it. I’ll admit, there are times when I miss aspects of my old phone, no not an iPhone or Android, a Windows Mobile 6.5 device. Anyway, I love my phone and its great to see it gets great reviews in the press. However what I hate about it and the reason I think it suffers is that there aren’t enough good apps for it. It doesn’t have the market share for people to bother porting their successful iPhone apps and it won’t gain that market share without the top apps. Therefore as I see it, if I want good apps I need to write them myself to try to help seed the platform and help it grow.
The last reason is a lesser one but it is a factor. I work in a pretty cool company with pretty cool people. It encourages learning and self empowerment and my bosses recognize things like this as positives and I get kudos at work.
So along with the new metro design for this site you should expect to see a lot more windows phone content here

This entry was posted in windows phone and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

